All simulatorsBest for…CompareWhat changedMethodologyNewsletter

IBKR vs thinkorswim: paper trading compared

Interactive Brokers Paper Trading is a broker demo; Schwab thinkorswim paperMoney is a broker demo. Here is how their paper trading compares using only facts from provider pages and cited reviews (see each listing's sources).

Price: IBKR — Free; thinkorswim — Free. Market data: IBKR — Free trial: delayed 10-15 min (OTC spot FX & metals non-delayed); paper account mirrors live data subscriptions; thinkorswim — Real-time simulated market data (paperMoney).

Account: IBKR — Free trial, or paper account once a live account is approved (funding not required for approval); thinkorswim — Schwab login, or 30-day Guest Pass without account (not extendable). Virtual balance: IBKR — US$1,000,000 (paper account); thinkorswim — $100,000. Reset: IBKR — Yes (Client Portal); thinkorswim — unknown.

Markets: IBKR — global (170+ markets per eggplantstockinvest); thinkorswim — US. Platforms: IBKR — desktop (TWS), web, mobile; thinkorswim — desktop, web, mobile.

Key differences in our data: IBKR adds ETFs, bonds, crypto, metals.

Pick the one that matches the market you plan to trade and the country you live in — the availability rows below show which countries each provider confirms.

Interactive Brokers Paper TradingSchwab thinkorswim paperMoney
WebsiteVisit siteVisit site
Typebroker demobroker demo
Marketsglobal (170+ markets per eggplantstockinvest)US
Assetsstocks, ETFs, options, futures, forex, crypto, bonds, metalsstocks, options, futures, forex
DataFree trial: delayed 10-15 min (OTC spot FX & metals non-delayed); paper account mirrors live data subscriptionsReal-time simulated market data (paperMoney)
PriceFreeFree
AccountFree trial, or paper account once a live account is approved (funding not required for approval)Schwab login, or 30-day Guest Pass without account (not extendable)
Starting balanceUS$1,000,000 (paper account)$100,000
ResetYes (Client Portal)unknown
Replayunknownunknown
Platformsdesktop (TWS), web, mobiledesktop, web, mobile
LimitsFull paper account requires approved live accountGuest Pass limited to 30 days
Country availabilityConfirmed in some countries; others unverified
Available: US, UK, IN, AU, CA
Paper account follows IBKR's accepted-countries list; free-trial eligibility not stated separately
Confirmed in some countries; others unverified
Available: US
Guest Pass offered on schwab.com and international.schwab.com; no eligible-country list published for Guest Pass
Available in USAvailable (verified)Available (verified)
Available in UKAvailable (verified)Unverified
Available in INAvailable (verified)Unverified
Available in AUAvailable (verified)Unverified
Available in CAAvailable (verified)Unverified

FAQ

Is IBKR or thinkorswim free for paper trading?

IBKR: Free. thinkorswim: Free.

Which has real-time data, IBKR or thinkorswim?

IBKR: Free trial: delayed 10-15 min (OTC spot FX & metals non-delayed); paper account mirrors live data subscriptions. thinkorswim: Real-time simulated market data (paperMoney).

Do IBKR and thinkorswim require an account?

IBKR: Free trial, or paper account once a live account is approved (funding not required for approval). thinkorswim: Schwab login, or 30-day Guest Pass without account (not extendable).

Where are IBKR and thinkorswim available?

IBKR: Confirmed in some countries; others unverified Available: US, UK, IN, AU, CA Paper account follows IBKR's accepted-countries list; free-trial eligibility not stated separately . thinkorswim: Confirmed in some countries; others unverified Available: US Guest Pass offered on schwab.com and international.schwab.com; no eligible-country list published for Guest Pass .

More comparisons

Schwab thinkorswim paperMoney vs Webull paperTradeTradingView Paper Trading vs Schwab thinkorswim paperMoneyInteractive Brokers Paper Trading vs TradeStation SimulatorAlpaca Paper Trading API vs Interactive Brokers Paper Trading

Lists with both

Best for US stocksBest for optionsBest for futuresBest for forexBest for free paper tradingBest for real-time data

Information only, not financial advice. Simulated results do not predict real results. Features and availability change and vary by country; check the provider's site. Sponsored or affiliate links, if any, are labelled.